Orange County Online Premarital Preparation Course


Orange County Online Premarital Preparation Course

Avoid the three day wait requirement and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Orange County.

Here’s how it works:

The Orange County Courthouse will discount your marriage license application fee $32.50 upon completing our online premarital preparation course. The standard fee for a marriage license is $93.50, however, applicants who file a certification that both parties have completed our online premarital preparation course within the past 12 months, are entitled to a discount ($32.50), making their fee $61.00.

The cost of our the course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.

Our Online Premarital Preparation Course for Orange County Covers the Following Cities:

  • Alafaya
  • Apopka
  • Bay Lake
  • Belle Isle
  • Bithlo
  • Christmas
  • Doctor Phillips
  • Eatonville
  • Edgewood
  • Fairway Shores
  • Goldenrod
  • Gotha
  • Hunter’s Creek
  • Lake Buena Vista
  • Lockhart
  • Maitland
  • Meadow Woods
  • Oakland
  • Ocoee
  • Orlando
  • Orlovista
  • Pine Castle
  • Pine Hills
  • Southchase
  • South Apopka
  • Taft
  • Tangerine
  • Union Park
  • Wedgefield
  • Williamsburg
  • Windermere
  • Winter Garden
  • Winter Park
  • Zellwood

To purchase your online marital course, click here.



For your convenience, D’Arienzo Psychological Group has supplied information here from the Orange County Marriage License website. Please refer to the Orange County Clerk of Court website for additional information. (

Orange County Marriage License Information

What You Need to Know…

  • Learn how to obtain a copy of your marriage license here
  • The fee is $93.50, minus $32.50 if a premarital preparation class is completed
  • Payment options include cash, money orders, Visa, MasterCard, Discover and AmEx (there is a $3.99 convenience fee for each credit card transaction)

Marriage Licenses and Ceremonies

Florida law requires all couples wishing to get married to apply for a marriage license. Please review the information below for marriage license requirements.

Who may apply for a marriage license?

  • Any male or female age 18 or older
  • A minor whose parents are deceased and no guardian is appointed
  • Minors who under oath swear that they are parents or expectant parents of a child can petition a judge to issue a license. A pregnancy must be confirmed by a licensed physician
  • A previously married minor
  • A person age 16 or 17 with parental or guardian consent

Please Note: If person is a minor, both parents must give consent unless the parents are divorced and the custody and control of the child is placed with one parent. All written consents must be notarized, which can be done at the Clerk’s Office for a fee of $7.00. If divorced, the parent must present a certified copy of the divorce papers.

What do I need to apply for a marriage license?

  • Download the Marriage License Application, complete it and bring it with you to apply
  • If the parties applying for a license have children together that were born in Florida, they must fill out the Affirmation of Children Born in Florida form (DH743A). This form requires notarization, which can be done at the Clerk’s Office for a fee of $7.00
  • Both parties must apply together in person
  • Each party must show a valid driver’s license, a valid state identification card, a valid passport or valid military identification
  • Both parties must provide their Social Security numbers
  • If either party has been previously married, the party must provide the date his or her last marriage ended
  • Couples are required by law to read the Family Law Handbook supplied by the clerk and sign a statement acknowledging that they have done so before applying for the license

What is the fee for a marriage license? $93.50. That fee is reduced by $32.50 if proof is provided of a premarital preparation course (applies to FL residents only).

What is the cost of a marriage ceremony at the Clerk’s Office? A ceremony at the Clerk’s Office is $30.

How can I pay for my marriage license?

  • Cash, money order, cashier’s check (payable to the Orange County Clerk of Courts)
  • MasterCard, Visa, Discover or American Express
  • Personal checks are not accepted
  • There is a $3.99 surcharge added to all credit card transactions

Is there a waiting period for issuance of the license?  There is a 3-day waiting period for couples who live in Florida but do not provide proof that they have completed a premarital preparation course. A couple claiming hardship can petition a judge to waive the wait. There is no waiting period for non-residents.

When do I take the premarital preparation course? Within one year prior to applying for a license.
How do I find a course provider? Access our registry of providers.
Who is qualified to be a provider?
  • A psychologist licensed under chapter 490
  • A clinical social worker licensed under chapter 491
  • A marriage and family therapist licensed under chapter 491
  • A mental health counselor licensed under chapter 491
  • An official representative of a religious institution, which is recognized under s496.404(20), if the representative has relevant training
  • Any other provider designated by a judicial circuit, but not limited to, school counselors who are certified to offer such courses

If you are interested in being added to the Premarital Preparation Course Provider list for Orange County, download the Course Provider Requirements.

Are blood tests and physical exams required?  No.

Must I apply for a marriage license in the county where I live or in the county where the ceremony is going to be held? No. A marriage license can be obtained in any Florida county.

Can I use the Florida marriage license to be married in another state or country? No. The ceremony must be performed within the state of Florida in order to be recorded and valid.

Where can I apply for a marriage license in Orange County?  A marriage license may be obtained Monday through Friday, except holidays, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., at the following Clerk’s offices:

  • Downtown courthouse, 425 North Orange Avenue, Room 355, Orlando
  • 450 North Lakemont Avenue, Winter Park
  • 1111 North Rock Springs Road, Apopka
  • 475 West Story Road, Ocoee
A marriage license may also be obtained Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, except holidays,  8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., at our office at 684 S. Goldenrod Road, Pinar Plaza, Orlando.
How long is a marriage license valid once it is issued? 60 days.
Who may perform the ceremony? The following officials are authorized by Florida law to perform marriage ceremonies:
  • Ordained clergy
  • Elders in communion with a church
  • All Florida judges
  • Clerks of Court and their deputized employees
  • Notaries Public of the State of Florida
The law provides that ceremonies also may be performed among Quakers or “Friends” in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.
May a marriage be solemnized without a license? No. Section 741.08, Florida Statutes, states that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony.
When and who should return the license to the Clerk? A marriage cannot be officially recorded until the license is returned to the Clerk. It should be returned within 10 days of the wedding. The party that performed the marriage is responsible for returning the completed license.
Can I be married in the Clerk’s office? Yes. Deputy clerks are authorized to perform ceremonies. They are held from 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday at our Apopka, Ocoee and Winter Park offices. At the Orlando courthouse, ceremonies are held from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.  The fee for this service is set by Florida Statute and is $30.00. Ceremonies are performed on a first come, first served basis at each of our offices.
Where can I get a copy or certified copy of my marriage license? Visit our Certified Copy of Marriage License page for more information.
Name Changes on Other Documents If your marriage means a change in name or address, remember to notify the following agencies:
  • Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Division of Driver Licenses
  • Local Social Security Office
  • Supervisor of Elections (voter registration)
  • Military Reserve Commanding Officer



Dr. Justin D’Arienzo is Florida’s Leading Provider of Online Premarital Preparation and Premarital Counseling. He created an enjoyable and interactive online premarital preparation course that is certified in every county in Florida. Dr. D’Arienzo is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist, Certified Florida Supreme Court Family Mediator, Parenting Coordinator, Custody Evaluator, and Relationship Expert. If you are seeking individual psychotherapy, counseling in Jacksonville FL, couples and marriage counseling, family counseling, intensive marital therapy, or life coaching, D’Arienzo Psychological Group provides comprehensive psychological therapies and counseling utilizing research-based strategies. D’Arienzo Psychological Group is a full-service psychology firm, with mental health providers who specialize in areas including child and adolescent mental health counseling, behavior modification, psychotherapy for adults, group therapy, psychological assessment, life coaching, vocational counseling, organizational consulting and training, substance abuse treatment, anger management, premarital counseling, marital therapy, couples counseling, and forensic psychological services.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s