Online Premarital Preparation Course FAQ’s
Do we both have to pay for the course?
No. The course is $19.99 per couple. One payment allows both of you to use the course. If your fiancé is in a different location from you, you can give them the entry code once you receive it from us. Payment is accepted online through our website, or you may call our office during normal business hours (Monday – Friday, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM) and pay by credit card.
How long does it take to get my certificate?
Once you complete the course and complete and submit the quiz, we will receive notification that you have completed the course. If it is during normal business hours (Monday – Friday, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM) and we are not closed for a holiday, please allow up to one hour to receive your certificate of completion by email. If it is after hours, during the weekend, or a holiday, certificates of completion will be emailed or mailed during the next business morning. If you plan to obtain your marriage license in one of the following counties, these counties require an original certificate of completion, which must be mailed to you. These counties include Alachua, Bradford, Desoto, Dixie, Flagler, Gulf, Hernando, Highlands, Leon, Levy, Okeechobee, Pasco, Polk, Putnam, and Taylor Counties. Please allow an additional business day or two to receive your certificate by mail.
What counties in Florida require the original certificate?
If you plan to obtain your marriage license in one of the following counties, these counties require an original certificate of completion, which must be mailed to you. These counties include Alachua, Bradford, Desoto, Dixie, Flagler, Gulf, Hernando, Highlands, Leon, Levy, Okeechobee, Pasco, Polk, Putnam, and Taylor Counties. Please allow an additional 2-3 business days to receive your certificate by US Mail.
How long does the course take?
Florida statutes require that you spend a minimum of four hours on the premarital course. Every premarital course offered anywhere in Florida will require the same four hour minimum. The course material should take approximately two hours to read through. The rest of the time should be spent completing the activities together.
What if we finish the course in less than four hours?
The course is structured to take four hours to complete, including all of the activities and exercises. In the event you complete the course in less than four hours, please re-review the materials that were most significant to you and your relationship. Again, Florida Statute requires that you spend four hours on the course – these are not our rules and all approved providers must adhere.
How do I know if you are an approved provider of this course in my county?
The counties listed on my website are the counties in which I am registered. If you are still unsure, you may call the Clerk of Court where you intend to obtain a marriage license to verify. I would be listed under Dr. Justin D’Arienzo or D’Arienzo Psychological Group. Please keep in mind that if you call the Clerk’s office and they cannot find me listed as an authorized provider, it is because the office is not looking it up correctly or not checking properly. I have verification from all of the counties that I received approval from in my office, so there will be no issues when you go to obtain your marriage license. Also of note, please do not rely on the Clerk of Courts website, as those websites are not updated regularly.
Is an online course accepted in Florida?
Yes, if it is done by an authorized provider and meets the requirements of the law.