Online Premarital Preparation Course in Jackson County
Avoid the three day wait requirement and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Jackson County. We do provide the approved premarital course in an online format so you can save money on your marriage license and avoid waiting three days to have your marriage license issued to you. Contact our office today to get started.
Here’s how it works:
The Jackson County Courthouse will discount your marriage license application fee from $93.50 to $61.00 upon completing our online premarital preparation course.
The cost of our the course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.
Our Online Premarital Preparation Course for Jackson County Covers the Following Cities:
- Grand Ridge
- Jacob City
- Two Egg
To purchase your online marital course, click here.
For your convenience, D’Arienzo Psychological Group has supplied information here from the Jackson County Marriage License website. Please refer to the Jackson County Clerk of Court website for additional information. (http://www.jacksonclerk.com/marriage.html)
Frequently Asked Questions
Who May Apply For A Marriage License?
- Any male or female age 18 or over.
- A minor whose parents are deceased and no guardian is appointed.
- Minors, who under oath, swear that they are parents or expectant parents of a child. In addition, the pregnancy must be verified by a written statement of a licensed physician. When the fact of pregnancy is verified by the written statement of a licensed physician, the county court judge may, in his/her discretion, issue a license to marry.
- A previously married minor.
- A person age 16 or 17 with parental or guardian consent.
Where Consent Is Required, Is Consent Of Both Parents Required?
Yes, unless the parents are divorced and the custody and control is placed in one parent, then only the parent having such custody and control shall be required to give the written consent. Written consent of an incompetent parent is not required (Attorney General Opinion 49-122). All written consents must be acknowledged (notarized).
Is There A Waiting Period For Issuance Of The License?
Yes, a three day wait if you don’t take the four hour premarital preparation course from a registered provider.
Are Blood Tests And Physical Exams Required?
No. The law requiring these tests was abolished October 1, 1986.
Must I Apply For A Marriage License In The County Where I Live?
No, a marriage license may be applied for and solemnized in any Florida county.
Where Can I Apply For A Marriage License In Jackson County?
A marriage license may be obtained Monday through Friday, 8:00 am. to 4:30 p.m. at the Marriage Division of the Clerk of Circuit Court’s Office in the Jackson County Courthouse.
How Long Is A Marriage License Valid Once It Is Issued?
The marriage must be solemnized within sixty (60) days of issuance of the Marriage License. The ceremony can be performed anywhere in the State of Florida.
Who May Perform Marriage Ceremonies?
- A regularly ordained minister or other ordained clergy;
- Elders in communion with some church;
- All judicial officers (Judges) of the State of Florida;
- Clerks of Circuit Court and their deputies of the State of Florida; and
- Notaries Public of the State of Florida.
- In addition, the law provides that marriages may be performed among “Quakers” or “Friends”, in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.
- Who Is A “Regularly Ordained Minister”?
He/she is a minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.
May A Marriage Be Solemnized Without A License?
No, Section 741.08 F.S. states that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony.
When And Who Should Return The License To The Clerk?
A marriage cannot be officially recorded until the license is returned to the Clerk. It should be returned within 10 days after the wedding. The party who performed the marriage is responsible for returning the completed license.
Can I Be Married In The Clerk’s Office?
Yes. Dale Rabon Guthrie, Clerk of Courts, considers it an honor to perform wedding ceremonies and Deputy Clerks are authorized and available during normal working hours to perform marriage ceremonies. The fee for this service is set by Florida Statute and is currently $30.00. Please call for an appointment at (850) 482-9552.
Can I Pay For My Marriage License With A Personal Check?
In Jackson County, local checks are accepted for a marriage license. Checks should be made payable to: Dale Rabon Guthrie, Clerk of Courts.
Changing Information On Documents
If your marriage means a change in name and/or address, remember to make the following important notifications:
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Division of Drivers License.
- Your nearest Social Security office.
- Your voter’s registration office.
- Military Reserve commanding officer.
- Beneficiaries: Members of your family are probably named as beneficiaries or joint owners on many of these documents (bank accounts, insurance policies, employment benefits, etc.) and you may wish to make your spouse the new beneficiary or joint owner.
Do both people need to come in together to apply for the marriage license?
What if I have been previously married?
If anyone of the applicants have been previously married, they must provide the date the last marriage ended. For example, if the marriage ended due to the death of a spouse, the date of death is required. If the marriage ended in divorce, the date of the Final Judgement of Dissolution of Marriage is required.
What type of ID is required?
A driver license or other acceptable identification such as passports or employee identification cards.
What Is The Fee For A Marriage License?
The fee for a marriage license is $93.50. The Clerk retains $32.00 for taking the application, recording and preserving it as a permanent record of his/her office. However, the legislature provides that the remaining $61.50 be used to fund various state agencies and trust funds, as follows:
- Department of Children and Family Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics $25.00
- Family Courts Trust Fund $25.00
- Displaced Homemaker Trust Fund $7.50
- Department of Health $4.00
Must I take the premarital preparation course?
No, but you must wait three days from the issuance date and pay the full price of $93.50. “A man and a woman who intend to apply for a marriage license under s.741.04(Fla. Stat.), may, together or separately, complete a premarital preparation course of not less than 4 hours. Each individual shall verify completion of the course by filing with the marriage application a valid certificate of completion from the course provider, which certificate shall specify whether the course was completed by personal instruction, videotape instruction, instruction via other electronic medium, or a combination of those methods. s.741.0305(Fla. Stat.)” According to s.741.01(5) Florida Statues, the course can be taken up to 1 year prior to the date of application for a marriage license. The cost of the course is to be paid by the applicant.
|Couple, residents, both took course (with valid certification)||$61.00 no wait|
|Couple, residents, one took course||$93.50 3-day wait|
|Couple, non-residents (no course required)||$93.50 No wait|
|Couple, one non-resident; one resident no course||$93.50 3-day wait|
|Couple, one non-resident; one resident took course||$93.50 3-day wait|
(Both parties have to be Florida Residents to be eligible for the counseling)
(Florida Resident means you must have a Florida ID or picture ID with a Florida Address)
A list of premarital preparation course providers are available in the Marriage Division in the Clerk’s Office.
Dr. Justin D’Arienzo is Florida’s Leading Provider of Online Premarital Preparation and Premarital Counseling. He created an enjoyable and interactive online premarital preparation course that is certified in every county in Florida. Dr. D’Arienzo is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist, Certified Florida Supreme Court Family Mediator, Parenting Coordinator, Custody Evaluator, and Relationship Expert. If you are seeking individual psychotherapy, counseling in Jacksonville FL, couples and marriage counseling, family counseling, intensive marital therapy, or life coaching, D’Arienzo Psychological Group provides comprehensive psychological therapies and counseling utilizing research-based strategies. D’Arienzo Psychological Group is a full-service psychology firm, with mental health providers who specialize in areas including child and adolescent mental health counseling, behavior modification, psychotherapy for adults, group therapy, psychological assessment, life coaching, vocational counseling, organizational consulting and training, substance abuse treatment, anger management, premarital counseling, marital therapy, couples counseling, and forensic psychological services.