Online Premarital Preparation Course in Gilchrist County
Avoid the three day wait requirement and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Gilchrist County.
Here’s how it works:
The fee for your marriage license is $93.50 if you do not take our online premarital preparation course and you will have a three day waiting period before you can pick up your license. If you do complete our online premarital preparation course the fee $61.00 and the three day waiting period is waived!
The cost of our the course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.
Our Online Premarital Preparation Course for Gilchrist County Covers the Following Cities:
For your convenience, D’Arienzo Psychological Group has supplied information here from the Gilchrist County Marriage License website. Please refer to the Gilchrist County Clerk of Court website for additional information. (http://www.gilchristclerk.com/marriage.html)
Florida Statute 741.01 in part states that the Clerk of Circuit Court acts as agent for the State of Florida for issuing Marriage Licenses. The Marriage License Department is here to answer your questions concerning obtaining a Marriage License in Gilchrist County.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What is needed to get a Marriage License and what is the cost?
Both parties must provide proof of the following:
Identification in the form of a drivers license, state ID or passport.
U.S. Citizens must provide their Social Security Number. Non-Citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service.
Proof of age. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age. An application form must be completed. The standard fee is $93.50, and can be paid by cash, check or credit card, however, applicants who file a certification that both parties have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, are entitled to a discount ($32.50), making their fee $61.00.
For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course within the last 12 months, there is no waiting period. For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid. The waiting period does not apply to non-Florida residents. Blood test for marriages in Florida are no longer required.
Florida Marriage license are valid for 60 days from date of issue. The marriage license form must be returned to the Clerk’s Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed. One certified copy is provided as part of the marriage license fee. Extra copies may be obtained for a fee of $3.00.
Do both parties have to be present at the Clerks Office to apply for a license?
Yes. Both parties must sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided.
Is a blood test required?
No. A blood test is no longer required in the State of Florida.
Is there a waiting period for the issuance of a Marriage License?
There is no waiting period for Florida Residents who have presented the following.
- Certificate of completion of a premarital preparation course from a qualified course provider.
How long is the Marriage License valid?
Florida Marriage Licenses are good for 60 days from the effective date.
Must I apply for a Marriage License in the County where I live?
No. A Marriage License can be applied for and solemnized in any Florida County.
Who may perform Marriage Ceremonies?
- All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy.
- All Judicial Officers, including retired Judicial Officers, Clerks of the Circuit Court, and Notary Publics of this State.
- “Quakers” and “Friends” may perform marriages in the manner and form used and practiced in their societies.
Who is a regularly ordained minister?
A minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.
May I get married by a captain aboard a ship?
Yes. If the Captain is a Notary and the ship is in Florida Waters (within 3 geographic miles of the coastline) at the time of the ceremony.
May a marriage be solemnized without a license?
No. Florida Statute 741.08states in part that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony, and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof the license and shall transmit the same to the Clerk of the Circuit Court from which it was issued.
Can I be married in the Clerks Office?
Yes. The Gilchrist County Clerk does provide this service.
How long does it take to get a copy of the marriage record, and the costs?
You will receive a certified copy of the Marriage Certificate within 7 days after the officiator returns it to the Clerks Office to be recorded. There is no charge for this copy. Additional certified copies cost $3.00.
Can people get a license to marry partners of their own gender?
Florida Statute 741.04 states in part that one applicant must be male and the other female.
Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?
Florida law prohibits a person marrying anyone to whom they are related by lineal consanguinity. The nearest degree of relations who may legally marry in the State of Florida is first cousins.
Do one or both applicants have to be U.S. Citizens?
No. There are no citizenship or residency requirements.
May a license be issued to persons 16 or 17 years of age?
- With written consent from both parents or guardian.
- If minor has been previously married.
- A County Judge can wave the age requirement for applicants that prove they are parents or expectant parents.
- If both parents are deceased.
Can a minor younger than 16 get a Marriage License with parental permission?
Florida Statute 741.0405(4) states that no license to marry shall be granted to any person under the age of 16 years, with or without the consent of the parents, except as provided in Florida Statutes 741.0405(2) and 741.0405(3).
Dr. Justin D’Arienzo is Florida’s Leading Provider of Online Premarital Preparation and Premarital Counseling. He created an enjoyable and interactive online premarital preparation course that is certified in every county in Florida. Dr. D’Arienzo is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist, Certified Florida Supreme Court Family Mediator, Parenting Coordinator, Custody Evaluator, and Relationship Expert. If you are seeking individual psychotherapy, counseling in Jacksonville FL, couples and marriage counseling, family counseling, intensive marital therapy, or life coaching, D’Arienzo Psychological Group provides comprehensive psychological therapies and counseling utilizing research-based strategies. D’Arienzo Psychological Group is a full-service psychology firm, with mental health providers who specialize in areas including child and adolescent mental health counseling, behavior modification, psychotherapy for adults, group therapy, psychological assessment, life coaching, vocational counseling, organizational consulting and training, substance abuse treatment, anger management, premarital counseling, marital therapy, couples counseling, and forensic psychological services.